The Fear

Photobucket
Lily Allen
The Fear
Writers: Lily Allen, Greg Kurstin
It’s Not Me, It’s You
December 9, 2008
Regal

The fluffy, synthetic quality of the backing of [The Fear] augments the pure genius of one of the best songs of 2009, even if it was released in 2008. It didn’t gain popularity until January so I’ll count it as this year and if you have a problem with that… I’m not entirely sure that I care. At any rate, Allen’s gracefully aloof voice fits this song with a pitch perfectness reserved for such a time as this. Each line has immense meaning and invites you to think about the type of culture we are building with lines like: “… I’m packing plastic / And that’s what makes my life so fucking fantastic” and “… I am a weapon of massive consumption / And it’s not my fault it’s how I’m programmed to function”. Her abashéd use of the word “fuck” and it’s broadening definition in British English only serve to amplify the vast well of truth to be discovered in this song. Allen makes a case of being rich and famous and its place in the post-modern world by giving it a dance-y, rhythmic backdrop and a singsong melody that with lyrics other than these would just be pretty but with these it makes her faux-clueless naivete all the more stirring. So download it. (Yeah, pay for it people, it’s worth it)

A+
99%
Five Stars

P.S. Try to get the unedited version, the editing is ****ing annoying…

~ by vinyabarion on February 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Fear”

  1. I agree with you, this is a great song. Lyrically, sonically, it’s all there. Are you planning on reviewing her album as well? Because it’s also pretty good.

    (Random note: I just noticed that during your review of Namie’s STYLE album, you mention Teddy Riley as being the creator of the late 90s style New-Jack Swing, but if I’m not mistaken, New-Jack Swing came into prominence at the end of the 80s, not the late 90s.)

  2. Espa… you always keep my on my toes. I’m not sure how that slipped my attention I’ll head over there and fix it.

    Seriously, think about opening a blog… and thank you so much for reading my stuff it means a lot to have that support.

    Patrick

Leave a Reply

 
