BLACK DIAMOND

Photobucket

‘BLACK DIAMOND’, one of DOUBLE’s highest profile collaborations, was previewed on Namie News Network last week. As I always am about Namie releases of any kind, I was ecstatically excited. It will be on DOUBLE’s BEST OF album called DOUBLE: THE BEST COLLABORATIONS and it features such high profile artists as VERBAL, Lupe Fiasco, AI, and Heartsdale.

The preview only showed tidbits of the song, including a chorus that sounded as masterful as Namie Amuro’s dance steps. Amazing minor melody and pulsating synth along with a driving beat made this song sound like a surefire hit.

After watching the PV, I realized that the chorus is all the song is. The verses are given blank, boring, unimaginative melodies and backgrounds. The bridge consists of Namie and DOUBLE saying “BLACK DIAMOND” a lot with the same voice rearranger found on ‘WHAT A FEELING’.

And the dancing… to say that Namie out-danced DOUBLE is like saying the Japanese played Battleship with the U.S. in WWII. Namie stands out instantly, outshining DOUBLE who seems if anything, unsure and intimidated. DOUBLE also is a stiff dancer, and the barely keeps up with her backup dancers, let alone the Shakira vs. Beyoncé dance sequence during the bridge.

I mean, in all fairness, these are basically the same dance steps Namie always does, so she had a step up on DOUBLE, but if you’re going to be in a dance video with Namie, your skills have to be so crazy. It doesn’t matter, she will slink her away across any dance routine put in front of her.

Overall, the song is good. Sadly, it had unprecedented potential that was tapped only slightly and DOUBLE unfortunately overvalued her screen presence. If anyone has ever stolen a spotlight, it was Amuro in this PV. Nice try, DOUBLE…

A
94%

Photobucket

~ by vinyabarion on May 9, 2008.

4 Responses to “BLACK DIAMOND”

  1. It’s a shame, because as much as I love Namie, I also have a soft spot for DOUBLE, and Namie totally kicked her musical behind on this song…

    I’m just glad these two collaborated. They’re like, my favorite singers ever. I think the song is hot too. I can never get enough of tracks like this.

  2. Namie shines in the PV, you’re right. You’re also regrettably right about the verses not being much from nothing. However, I still enjoyed the song and PV.

    I don’t really expect much from collaborations as I always end up disappointed when two musical greats can’t fuse a style that just works together.

    There’s no doubt that this is the first track on the album for a reason: Namie is hot property right now.

  3. The chorus is good, but sounds like a sped-up version of the lines ‘Strum me like a guitar, blow out my amplifier. When you get some feedback, keep going, take it higher’ from the chorus of Janet Jackson’s ‘Feedback.’

  4. I can almost agree there. Now that you mention I can see why you would say that. I personally think the song share a lot of things in common, intruments mainly, and the archetype that plagues most of pop music.

    Patrick

Leave a Reply

 
