My Generation / Understand

Photobucket
YUI
My Generation / Understand
June 13, 2007
Oricon
Daily Singles Chart: #1
Weekly Singles Chart: #1
Monthly Singles Chart: #9
Yearly Singles Chart: #55
Sales Total: 135,093
Sony Music Japan
Lyrics, Music, Arrangement, and Production: Oraki Noba, YUI

~~~

My Generation
3:56

In the same vein as most of YUI’s music, ‘My Generation’ is a guitar-led track. There are then two separate paths to take from that base, slow or fast. This song is fast, so it takes advantage of electric guitars and a galloping drum set. Lyrically the song treads some beautiful ground, inspiring her generation to change. About cracking through the walls of her classroom and changing the world and always moving forward. It’s very uplifting. It is one of the reasons that YUI has been so popular, the same reason Ayumi Hamasaki because same popular back in the early 00s… she can speak to her generation.

Understand
3:33

And here is archetype #1, the slow guitar ballad. Again, the lyrics make the music really speak. She sings about making her lover understand that she and him must part. She sees all the signs and even though he said they would always be together, he keeps making all the same mistakes over and over again. Violins play a semi-large part in the composition and even some beautiful chimes add some lightness.

~~~

YUI is a loud voice for her generation, but that’s all figurative as her actual voice is like an eight year-old’s. But there’s something about it that keeps me coming back. Especially when I feel lonely or sad, I can sense her can-do attitude and it helps me. I just wish she would experiment a little bit.

A
95%

Photobucket

~ by vinyabarion on April 16, 2008.

2 Responses to “My Generation / Understand”

  1. […] drum beat to mask her reused melody. But her lyrics set her apart, and as I stated in my review of My Generation / Understand, her poetry and young voice has set her on the same pedestal that gave Ayumi Hamasaki all her early […]

  2. […] drum beat to mask her reused melody. But her lyrics set her apart, and as I stated in my review of My Generation / Understand, her poetry and young voice has set her on the same pedestal that gave Ayumi Hamasaki all her early […]

Leave a Reply

 
