WANT ME, WANT ME

Photobucket

安室奈美恵
(Namie Amuro)
April 6, 2005
Oricon Peak: #2
Total Sales: 103,000
Year-End Chart: #100
RIAJ: GOLD

~~~

WANT ME, WANT ME
Lyrics: Sugi-V / Music & Arrangement: michico
3:13
Special: Key of F minor

A bhangra, reggaeton pop sensation, ‘WANT ME, WANT ME’ has the cred to even be listened to by Americans. I have met more people who have heard this song in clubs and such and, what’s more, they love it! Namie struck gold with this sitar-looping sex romp. The lyrics are down right dirty, ranging from, “Popping coochie…” to “Don’t forget the Trojan…” but all is forgiven as the four-on-the-floor rhythm drags you into a distorted synth heaven. Along with the distorted synth you get the floating high synth heard mostly in the instrumental because it gets lost in the melody which is overly catchy, and lends itself perfectly to the hot and heavy feel of the track. Namie huffs and puff and whimpers in all the right places and sings in her perfectly imperfect style. (Okay, you caught me, I’m a fanboy for Namie Amuro… I admit it…) And how can I forget that amazing sitar loop?

HANDLE ME
Lyrics, Music, and Arrangement: Akira
3:30

Now ‘HANDLE ME’ is a different story. When I first heard this track I didn’t like it. It was annoying and a bit boring, but after a couple of listens I found the lyrics (“Only I can handle me… Easy come, easy go…”) to be interesting and the bridge (a piano pounding slowdown) to fit perfectly in the single and slowly, I have loved it enough that it actually is a ringtone of mine. Musically, it bears similarity to the title track, it’s almost like if ‘WANT ME, WANT ME” was just an up-tempo pop number. Using Arabic flavored elements in a more pop/rock setting, ‘HANDLE ME’ brings this single to a pleasant ending.

~~~

On a sales note, WANT ME, WANT ME had the highest debut sales of any single since 2001’s duet with VERBAL, lovin’ it. This is me favorite song and/or single from Namie. It is a perfect example of New Pop and made me a huge fan.

A+
99%

Photobucket

~ by vinyabarion on January 19, 2008.

One Response to “WANT ME, WANT ME”

  1. I remember this song, a little dirty but good. And I’ll do some Namie, sooner or later lol.

Leave a Reply

 
