CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK / 人魚

Photobucket

安室奈美恵
(Namie Amuro)
CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK / 人魚
May 17, 2006
Oricon Peak: #2
Total Sales: 79,525
Year-End Chart: #125
RIAJ: Gold

~~~

CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK
Lyrics, Music, and Arrangement: T. Kura, michico
3:49

*This song has been around for a while and CSCEIM will probably go down as Namie’s longest A-side title, not to mention that it is in all capital letters. It was her only single of 2006, much to my dismay, and I played it incessantly (all my friends know it now). The smooth, jazzy horns and bounce of this song have become a staple of Namie’s lately, so much so that FUNKY TOWN had almost the same feeling. But this song was fun and summery and FUNKY TOWN was heavier and darker, but not much darker, I mean, this is Namie we’re talking about here. The chorus is in an ungodly register (it’s really high) and I wouldn’t have found my starting pitch for singing it with the instrumental (which is almost as fun as the actual song) if it weren’t for the for the almost mute keyboard deigning to strike in the chorus occasionally. The male perspective, added by Nao’myt, was nice to hear, and probably should have had him featured, but, I mean, how much longer could the name of this song gotten? (!!!) 

Photobucket

人魚
(Ningyo)
(Mermaid)
3:36

Womping synth and a harp navigate us into a sea of beautiful strings, synth, and harmony. This song is very pretty, but it’s not really much to talk about. It’s a cover of Nokko’s 1994 hit of the same name, and it sounds like a cover. I haven’t heard the original, but I liked the electric guitar and the underwater effect that the harmonizing backup singers give.

CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK (Remix)
Lyrics, Music, and Arrangement: T. Kura, michico
3:18

A booming bass replaces the horns in this remix. The vocals and everything else are the same. There’s some fast clicking and some fast remixing done at the transitions between verses and chorus. It’s a cool remix and one that shows what CSCEIM could have been in arranged by someone else. I really enjoyed it!

~~~

A-
93%

Photobucket

*This was taken from my review of PLAY

~ by vinyabarion on January 19, 2008.

One Response to “CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK / 人魚”

  1. This song has to be my favorite song by Namie, it’s so fun, upbeat, and her vocals where awesome. it’s much like Funky Town, but i like CSCEIS much better!

Leave a Reply

 
