MTV: Video Music Awards

WTF? OMG! Are you serious? What the hell has happened to the refined, beautiful, American awards show. This was just ridiculous. I don’t even have anything to say except that if this is the best America has to show for its latest generation, we are SCRUUUWED!

~ by vinyabarion on September 10, 2007.

6 Responses to “MTV: Video Music Awards”

  1. I like how you say, “refined, beautiful, American awards show.” I mean…really? I’ll give you American, but refined? It was kind of always a sort of joke. In fact it’s only within the last couple of years that they changed the airing from Thursday evening to Sunday evening (and boo on that).

    But I have to disagree with you on the “scruuuwed” aspect. I mean, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a more brilliant piece of stage performance than the moment I saw “Gimme More.” The sequins, the crotch grabbing, the complete irony of ennui and disinterest… Man, I still hope Britney and Kevin get back together. They need to have more kids. If it’s a money issue, I’ll give them more money to have them. I just want to make this a better country.

  2. Um…

    I always thought that the Academy Awards was a nice ceremony, and it’s not like anyone else does it better…

    How can you say that? That performance was like watching a bad actor. We’ve all seen Britney perform better than that… much better… And, while ‘Gimme More’ was a big bad part of it… the staging, nominee announcing, and the lack of direction were all horrid. And I suppose you mean “never” when you typed “ever”… but, honestly, I definitely seen better… I mean… give me a break… And paying Britney and Kevin to have more babies isn’t going to make this a better country…

    The behavior of the people on the awards show was what got me… It’s too much debauchery for one show… MTV lead a generation at one point, now it’s flipping the landfill of our culture over for the world to see…

  3. Dude. It was sarcasm.

  4. One bad thing about typing… sorry… I should have known you weren’t that… uh… stupid? (Can I say that without being rude)… anyhoo… whatcha been up to? I notice your site has been lack on posts lately… Busy?

  5. a. The whole idea of an “awards” show is ridiculous. So you’re right, it’s not like anybody does it better. ‘Cause no one does it well to begin with. I mean, it’s basically the music industry giving out awards to themselves…what’s the point again?

    b. I haven’t been posting lately because classes started again and there are not enough hours in the day for all the stuff I have to do, let alone would like to do. I’m hoping things will settle down soon.

    c. Speaking of a) and awards shows…am I the only one who sees Kanye West for the douche that he is? Can he not speak three solid sentences that have nothing to do with himself? I almost peed myself when I heard him listed under some Music slash Something or Other slash Actor-or-something category as a “Social Activist.” Bitch, please.

    d. Hikki’s new single would have done better if she hadn’t released it on iTunes four months before and I honestly can’t even remember what the b-side sounds like. There. That’s the most musical thing I’ve written this week. Exclusive!!

  6. lol about d…

    I hate Kanya too…

    And I don’t know… I just like watching Awards shows…

Leave a Reply

 
