Gimme More

britney-gimme-more.jpg

Britney Spears
Gimme More
Written by: Nate Hills, Keri Hilson, James Washington, Marcella Araica
Produced by: Nate ‘Danja’ Hills
This single hasn’t been released yet (it’s due for a September 5 release), but it’s burning up the airplay charts…

     After a sufficient dozen listenings to Britney Spears’ new single Gimme More (which I immediately associated it with Namie Amuro’s ‘gimme more’ from STYLE (2003), that’s how obsessed I am…), I decided to write a review… of sorts…

     I bit my lip when I heard her utter, “It’s Britney, bitch…”, I mean, it’s like a call out to all of her people. I don’t know, but when I get around a bunch of her fans they all seem to have the same outlook on life… like, “Who the f*** cares?” Must be part of the mindset…

     As for the song, we are talking about a cut & paste club banger. Dripping synth, punchy bass line, breathy vocals, overly catchy chorus. At some point, a hint of funk violin comes in, but the electronic beeping and beat, which has a bit of give to it as in the actual bass synth is hit and then ripples out, but since it never stops, it never goes all the way out giving the impression of being surrounded by it, along with the disorienting backup vocals of… someone, are what is going to set this song on fire. The lyrics are barely there, the verse seems like a pre-chorus, and the chorus is mostly the entire song. I don’t even think there is a verse… anywhere… I won’t make any predictions about this song’s success, it’s up to America, but Britney is trying to get back to business and I hope she can pull it off.

     I have a special place in my heart for fallen idols.

~ by vinyabarion on September 2, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
